fbpx
Search
Close this search box.

CINEMANIA festival – Press release 26 October 2023

Valais Film Commission and Switzerland in the spotlight at CINEMANIA Festival.

Sion, 26 October 2023. The Valais Film Commission (VFC) will attend the 29th CINEMANIA Film Festival in Montreal (from 1 to 12 November 2023), where it aims to strengthen ties with the Canadian film industry through co-production agreements.

CINEMANIA is a French-language film festival that takes place every year in Montreal, and the Valais Film Commission will be heading to Canada to attend. The festival honours a different country every year, with Switzerland and Valais set to dazzle Quebec at the 2023 edition. “Foudre” (“Thunder”), a film shot in Valais by Carmen Jaquier, was used in the official festival art for the 29th edition and will take centre stage at CINEMANIA before representing Switzerland for a nomination at the 2024 Oscars.

VFC will be continuing its promotional work on the other side of the Atlantic with an unparalleled programme of films and events celebrating the creativity of French-speaking Switzerland. VFC aims to attract foreign productions to the region to ensure international recognition as a film location. “Film festivals and markets are vital in bringing about international co-productions and showcasing Valais’ landscapes and VFC’s facilitation services,” explains Tristan Albrecht, Valais Film Commissioner. VFC is partnering with the Culture Department of the Canton of Valais, Switzerland Tourism, Swiss Films, the Consulate General of Switzerland in Montreal, Presence Switzerland and the CINEMANIA Festival to put together a professional programme of events including round tables and photo exhibitions. There will be a number of activities focusing on productions that were either filmed in the canton of Valais or created by Valais natives, including “Laissez-moi” (“Let Me Go”) by Maxime Rappaz, “Foudre” by Carmen Jacquier and “La Voie Royale” (“The Path of Excellence”), the latest film by Frédéric Mermoud.

Affiche Cinemania festival

Further information:

Valais Film Commission : https://valaisfilmcommission.ch/en/

CINEMANIA: https://www.festivalcinemania.com/

GoldenEggProduction: http://www.goldeneggproduction.ch/

Contact

Press department of the Valais Film Commission,
films@valais.ch, 027 327 36 12

See other news

The Valais Film Commission returns to Cannes, where Switzerland will be the Pays d’Honneur.

Switzerland in the spotlight at Cannes. May means Cannes Film Festival. This year, Switzerland will be the “Country of Honor” at the 77th edition…

“Sauvages” at Cannes!

Claude Barras will present his new film “Sauvages” at Cannes. The good news is out, “Sauvages” will be screened during the Young Audience Sessions…

Communiqué de presse – 26 avril 2024

La Valais Film Commission rejoint la Switzerland Film Commissions Sion, le 26 avril 2024. C’est lors de l’assemblée générale de la Switzerland Film Commissions…

fbpx
Suche
Close this search box.

CINEMANIA festival – Medienmitteilung 26. Oktober 2023

Die Valais Film Commission und die Schweiz als Ehrengast am Festival CINEMANIA.

Sion, 26. Oktober 2023. Die Valais Film Commission (VFC) wird am 29. Filmfestival CINEMANIA in Montreal (1.–12. November 2023) zu Gast sein, um die Verbindungen zur kanadischen Filmindustrie durch Koproduktionsabkommen zu stärken.

CINEMANIA ist ein frankophones Filmfestival, das einmal im Jahr in Montreal stattfindet und an dessen diesjähriger Ausgabe die Valais Film Commission teilnehmen wird. Jedes Jahr wird ein Land als Ehrengast eingeladen, und dieses Jahr heisst das Festival die Schweiz in Quebec willkommen. Der im Wallis gedrehte Film «Foudre» von Carmen Jaquier, der die Schweiz bei den Oscars 2024 vertreten wird, wurde als offizielles Visual der 29. Ausgabe des Festivals CINEMANIA gewählt und wird bei dieser Ausgabe im Scheinwerferlicht stehen.

Mit einem brandneuen Programm von Filmen und Veranstaltungen, die das Westschweizer Filmschaffen feiern, setzt die VFC ihre Promotionsarbeit jenseits des Atlantiks fort. Eines der Ziele der Valais Film Commission ist es, ausländische Produktionen anzuziehen, um international als Drehort bekannt und anerkannt zu werden. «Festivals und Messen sind extrem wichtig, um internationale Koproduktionen zu fördern und das Wallis sowohl für seine Filmkulissen als auch für die Rolle der VFC als Vermittlerin bekannt zu machen», sagt Tristan Albrecht, Valais Film Commissioner. In Partnerschaft mit der Dienststelle für Kultur des Kantons Wallis, Schweiz Tourismus, Swiss Films, dem Schweizer Generalkonsulat in Montreal, Präsenz Schweiz und dem Festival CINEMANIA hat die Valais Film Commission ein branchenbezogenes Programm auf die Beine gestellt, das unter anderem Diskussionsrunden und eine Fotoausstellung umfasst. Zu mehreren Filmen, die im Kanton Wallis oder von Walliserinnen und Wallisern gedreht wurden, wird es spezifische Aktivitäten geben. Dies gilt insbesondere für «Laissez-moi» von Maxime Rappaz, «Foudre» von Carmen Jaquier und «La Voie royale», den neuesten Film von Frédéric Mermoud.

Plakat Cinemania festival

Weitere Informationen:

Valais Film Commission : https://valaisfilmcommission.ch/en/

CINEMANIA: https://www.festivalcinemania.com/

GoldenEggProduction: http://www.goldeneggproduction.ch/

Kontakt

Medienstelle Valais Film Commission,
films@valais.ch, 027 327 36 12

Weitere Nachrichten ansehen

Alliance 4 Development – erneuerte Partnerschaft!

Alliance 4 Development beim Locarno Film Festival Das Locarno Film Festival und die Valais Film Commission erneuern ihre Zusammenarbeit im Rahmen von Alliance 4…

Anstieg der Anfragen für Dreharbeiten im Wallis.

113 Drehtage für Spielfilme. Von 2020 bis 2023 gab es im Wallis 113 Drehtage für fiktionale Filmprojekte, womit die Region hinter Zürich den zweiten…

Medienmitteilung – 23. Februar 2024

Der Streaming-Gigant Netflix richtet das Scheinwerferlicht auf das Wallis und die Valais Film Commission. Sion, le 23. Februar 2024. Die Valais Film Commission (VFC)…